1. University of Virginia
  2. Arts & Sciences

Academic Calendar

Fall 2013 Semester

Thursday, August 1 through Tuesday, October 1 Students Apply in SIS for December 2013 Graduation
Monday, August 26 Deadline to file for Leave of Absence
Saturday, August 24 Arrival of New Students and Start of Orientation
Saturday, August 24 through Monday, August 26 Orientation Continues
Monday, August 26 through Friday, August 30 Advising
Tuesday, August 27 Classes Begin
Tuesday, September 10

Last Day for Adding Classes
Last Day to Change to or from "Credit/No Credit" Option
Last Day to Elect the AU (Audit) Option 
(must be done using a course action form)

Wednesday, September 11 Last Day to Drop a Class
Friday, September 27 through Sunday, September 29 Family Weekend
Friday, September 27 Fall Convocation
Friday, October 11 Last Day of Classes Before Reading Holiday
Saturday, October 12 through Tuesday, October 15 Reading Days
Wednesday, October 16 Classes Resume
Friday, October 18 Class Search Available for Spring Classes
Monday, October 28 through Friday, November 8 Advising for Spring 2014 Course Enrollment
Tuesday, October 22 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course
Monday, November 4 through Tuesday, December 17 Students Apply in SIS for May 2014 Graduation

Monday, November 11 through Wednesday, November 20

Undergraduate Enrollment for Spring Classes
Friday, November 15 Last Day to Withdraw from the University and Return for Spring 2014 Semester
Tuesday, November 26 Last Day to Request Change in Examination Schedule
Last Day of Classes before Thanksgiving Recess
Wednesday, November 27 through Sunday, December 1 Thanksgiving Recess
Monday, December 2 Classes Resume
Friday, December 6 Classes End
Friday, December 6 Last Day for Fourth- Semester Students to Declare a Major
Sunday, December 8 Reading Day

Monday, December 9 through Tuesday, December 17
(no exams on Thursday, December 12 or Sunday, December 15)

Course Examinations
Thursday, December 12 and Sunday, December 15 Reading Days
Monday, January 13 Deadline for Completing Authorized Incompletes from the Fall Semester
 

 

January Term 2014

 

Thursday, January 2
     (Classes will be held on Saturday, January 4)
January Term Courses Begin
 
Friday, January 10 January Term Courses End
 

 

Spring 2014 Semester

 

Monday, January 13 Classes Begin
Monday, January 20 University Holiday, Martin Luther King Day - NO CLASSES TODAY
Monday, January 27 Last Day for Adding Classes
Last Day to Change to or from the "Credit/No Credit" Option
Last Day to Elect the AU (Audit) Option 
(must be done using a course action form)
Tuesday, January 28 Last Day to Drop a Class
Friday, March 7 Last Day of Classes Before Spring Recess
Saturday, March 8 through
Sunday, March 16
Spring Recess
Friday, March 14 Class Search Available for Fall Classes
Monday, March 17 Classes Resume
Monday, March 17 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course
Monday, March 24 through Friday, April 4 Advising for Fall 2014 Course Selection
Monday, April 7 through Friday, April 11 Undergraduate Enrollment Begins For Fall 2014 Classes
Monday, June 3 Students Apply in SIS for August 2014 Graduation
Tuesday, April 15 Last day to Withdraw from the University and Return for Fall 2014 Semester
Wednesday, April 23 Last Day to Request Change in Examination Schedule
Tuesday, April 29 Classes End
Wednesday, April 30 Reading Day
Tuesday, April 29 Last Day for Fourth-Semester Students to Declare a Major
Sunday, May 4, and Wednesday, May 7 Reading Days
Thursday, May 1 through
Friday, May 9
(no exams on Sunday, May 4 or Wednesday, May 7)
Course Examinations
Sunday, May 18 Final Exercises
Friday, June 6 Deadline for Completing Authorized Incompletes from the Spring Semester
Tuesday, July 1 Last Day to Apply for August 2014 Graduation